top of page

Blogs and Blurbs and What Nots, Is or Isn'ts

Saving money On Food~Pork


I started remembering how my parents did it. I mean, my dad had a good job that allowed for my mother to be an amazing stay at home mom. My parents loved children. My mom loved cooking and baking and caregiving. Hence, there wasn't many days that went by my house didn't have extras... That means more groceries. My dad was a coupon king. Really. I still look back and say wow. My mom was so creative and wise and good at cramming numbers in the kitchen. That being said Instead of buying those boneless pork chops, that ground pork, that pork sausage, pork for stir fry , pork fillets, etc. Buy whats on sale. The per lb price. That means if whole boneless pork loins are on sale for 1.19lb and boneless chops are 3.99 lb by all means think of the entire month.. Buy the loin, take it home and slice some chops, cut some up for stir fry, Save a hunk to do in the crock pot for pulled pork or pork and sauerkraut. Many of us are missing how basic buying should be. I was able to purchase pork lion end roasts this past week for .98lb score. I ground some up for meatballs to sausage to anything you would use ground beef for. I chopped some up for stir fry or soup or a casserole. I cut some for use as pork chops or rolls. The options are wide when you think about it. Just because a recipe says buy boneless thick cut pork chops does not mean you have to pay the hefty price. And bonus. The butcher will cut the meat for you if you ask, for FREE! Don't miss out on opportunities like that. Beef too! We will discuss that another day. Slicing up a pork loin.

Chunks for stir fry or soup or a casserole~bonus you control the fat

Grind up your own meat~you can use a food processor or ninja Just pulse and pulse and pulse

Best part even the meaty bone has purpose. Stock, broth, soup or just to add flavor to something otherwise boring like rice


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

bottom of page